Warning: mysql_connect(): Headers and client library minor version mismatch. Headers:50547 Library:100122 in /home/bceln2/secure/mysql_pconnect.php on line 4

BC IR Network Advisory Committee Announcement

September 24, 2014

TO: BC ELN Partner Library Directors
CC: BC IR Network Advisory Committee
FROM: Debbie Schachter, Chair BC Institutional Repository Network Advisory Committee
RE: Announcing the BC Institutional Repository Network Advisory Committee

It is with great pleasure that I announce the members of the BC Institutional Repository Network (IRN) Advisory Committee. The Advisory Committee will focus on policy and planning for the BC IR Network, as well as direct the initiative’s operations. Terms of Reference are pending endorsement, but provisionally the Committee will report to the BC ELN Steering Committee.

The Advisory Committee consists of representatives from BC ELN partner libraries that are highly interested in implementing an institutional repository within the next 2 years. Two members were selected because they have IRs currently in place at their organisation. Membership will be evaluated over time as the IR initiative’s needs change.

Members of the Advisory Committee are: 

At this time I would also like to extend our very great thanks to the members of the Institutional Repository Concept Committee (IRCC) for their hard work and enthusiasm.  Together they shepherded the BC IR initiative from its inception in 2012 to the 2014/15 investment of $50,000 (with an additional $50,000 planned for 2015/16) by the Administrative Services Delivery Transformation Steering Committee and the Ministry of Advanced Education. Without the IRCC’s vision and dedication, the BC IR initiative would not have become a reality.

The members of the IRCC were:

The BC IRN Advisory Committee will now assume responsibility for guiding the development of the IR Network, with the goal of providing open access to BC’s scholarly output.

Questions about the BC IR Network? Contact:

Debbie Schachter, Chair BC IRN Advisory Committee
Library Director, Douglas College

Sunni Nishimura

BC ELN Coordinator