Save the Date: Tuesday, May 10th PDL Meeting


March 22, 2016

*** Please share as appropriate. Apologies for cross-posting. ***


On November 4, 2015, a group of stakeholders gathered to initiate discussions on the possibility of a Provincial Digital Library for British Columbia. One of the outcomes of that meeting was a commitment to host a larger meeting in the spring with an expanded audience. 

On May 10, 2016, we invite you to hold the date to further discuss the possibilities and challenges associated with building a Provincial Digital Library.  This meeting will focus on establishing a shared vision, firming a governance structure, as well as deepening discussions in areas such as infrastructure, meta data, and fund raising. 

The meeting is open to all interested participants so please pass this invitation on to anyone in your organization who you think would like to contribute. To cover meeting expenses, and as there is no external funding, a small registration fee will be charged.

When: Tuesday, May 10th, 2016
Where: Melville Centre for Dialogue, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Richmond campus
Time: Exact time to be determined. For those travelling, the business meeting will start no earlier than 9 am. We expect the meeting to extend into the afternoon.

We anticipate a lively, forward-focused discussion about one of the most crucial and rapidly evolving areas of library service and information management! We look forward to seeing you. Full details will follow in the upcoming weeks.

If you have questions, don't hesitate to contact any of the May 10th Planning Team members.

We look forward to seeing you there. 

May 10th Planning Committee:

Tim Atkinson, BC ELN PDL Resource Group Chair, Vancouver Island University - Tim.Atkinson@viu.ca 
Jenny Benedict, Director, West Vancouver Public Library jbenedict@westvanlibrary.ca
Anita Cocchia, Executive Director, BC ELN  anitac@eln.bc.ca
Caroline Daniels, BCLA President, Kwantlen Polytechnic University - caroline.daniels@kpu.ca
Annette DeFaveri, Executive Director, BCLA - execdir@bcla.bc.ca
Melanie Houlden, ABCPLD Chair and BCLC Chair, Surrey Public Library - MGHoulden@surrey.ca 
Ben Hyman, Executive Director, BC Libraries Co-op - ben.hyman@bc.libraries.coop
Shirley Lew, Director, Vancouver Community College - slew@vcc.ca 
Simon Neame, BC Digitization Coalition Chair, University of British Columbia - simon.neame@ubc.ca
Debbie Schachter, CPSLD Chair, Douglas College - schachterd@douglascollege.ca
Sandra Singh, Chief Librarian, Vancouver Public Library - sandra.singh@vpl.ca 
Dave Stewart, Digital Manager, Royal BC Museum - DStewart@royalbcmuseum.bc.ca